Spicy Sausage Meatballs

This is the appetizer that I made for dinner tonight, the one that I shared before and after oven photos of. Now, they’re called “spicy,” but I didn’t include the spicy ingredients because two out of the four of us don’t do spicy foods.

These were super tasty, but slightly high maintenance. It takes a little while to make sure that the sausage mixture is well blended; I suggest using a larger bowl to have more room to do so.

Ingredients

1 pound Owens Hot Sausage (I used Mild Tennessee Pride sausage)

2 cups Bisquick

4 cups shredded cheddar cheese, Monterrey jack, or mixed

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

1 tablespoon dried sage

1 tablespoon dreid parsley

2 tablespoons pickled jalapeno, chopped (I didn’t include this)

2 tablespoons water

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and spray 2 cookie sheets with non-stick cooking spray.

Put all ingredients in a large bowl and mix with your hands.

Form into 1 inch balls and place them on baking sheets, leaving some space between them so you can turn them over.

Bake 15 minutes and then turn them over. Bake an additional 15 minutes and transfer to serving dish. (This depends on how hot your oven gets; I cooked mine for 12 minutes, flipped them, and then cooked for another 12 minutes).

If you have leftovers, they are good reheated in the microwave.

Leave a comment